Top 50 Basketball Players of All-Time: 20-11

20 Elgin Baylor (1958–1971) SF: Perhaps the first “above the rim” player the NBA ever had, Elgin Baylor is a Laker legend. Posting career averages of 27 points, 13 rebounds, and 4 assists; Baylor helped lead the Lakers to 8 straight Finals. However, he never won a single championship during his playing years.

19 Bob Cousy (1950–1963, 1969-1970) PG: The reason Baylor never won a championship was due to the Boston Celtics’ dynasty. Bob Cousy was a big part of 6 of those championships. To go along with those 6 rings, Cousy won an MVP and was a 10-time All-NBA 1st teamer.

18 Dirk Nowitzki (1998–Present) PF: Entering his 21st season with the Dallas Mavericks, Dirk Nowitzki is arguably the greatest international player ever. Not only is he one of 7 players to score over 31,000 points, but he led the Mavericks to one of the biggest upsets in Finals history over the LeBron James led Miami Heat. Oh yeah, he also won the 2007 MVP and made 13 All-Star teams as well.

Dirk won his only championship against the Miami Heat.

17 John Havlicek (1962–1978) SF/SG: Better known as “Hondo”, John Havlicek was another huge part of the Celtics’ legendary dynasty. He won 8 championships with Boston and during that time, he made 13 All-Star teams as well as 5 All-Defensive 1st Teams.

16 Moses Malone (1974–1995) C: During the late 70s and early 80s, Moses Malone had an incredible run. During his career, he won 3 NBA MVPs, made the All-NBA 1st Team 4-times, won the 1983 NBA Finals, and the Finals MVP with the Philadelphia 76ers.

15 Julius Erving (1971–1987) SF: Perhaps the greatest ABA player of all-time, “Dr. J” is a legend. One of the greatest swing-man ever, Erving was the only player ever to win MVPs in both the ABA and the NBA. He won named to 11 NBA All-Star teams and won his only NBA championship in 1983 with said Moses Malone. He’s also one of the greatest dunkers ever as you see in the cover picture.

14 Oscar Robertson (1960–1974) PG: “The Big O” was the first and for a while, the only player in NBA history to average a triple-double in a single season. While that’s what he’s known for most; Robertson was also an MVP, a 9-time All-NBA 1st Teamer, and led the NBA in assists 6 times. He won his only ring with the Bucks in 1971.

Karl Malone and Hakeem Olajuwon are two of the best big men to ever play the game.

13 Jerry West (1960–1974) PG/SG: You must be an all-time great when you’re the logo of the NBA. Jerry West who played his entire career with the Lakers had a career scoring average of 27 points and made the All-Star team every single year of his career. He’s also the only player in history to win a Finals MVP on the losing team.

12 Karl Malone (1985–2004) PF: Out of his 19 seasons in the league, Karl Malone averaged more than 20 points per game 17 times. That is just insane. Malone is 2nd all-time in points with 36,928 and won the MVP in twice in the late 90s. But he ran into the Michael Jordan Bulls and was never able to get that elusive ring.

11 Hakeem Olajuwon (1984–2002) C: The number one pick in the legendary 1984 draft, Hakeem “The Dream” just barely misses out on the top 10 players of all-time. He’s one of two players ever to win the MVP and Defensive Player of the Year in the same season. He made the All-NBA 1st Team 6-times, the All-NBA Defensive 1st Team 5-times, and led the league in blocks 3-times. In the two championships he won, Olajuwon was named the Finals MVP each of those times.

Steve Santoro (SVS_1993)

Steven Santoro

I love sports and movies. Be on the lookout for articles about both. I also made a video that got 24,000 Retweets. (The views expressed on this website are mine alone and are not intended in any way to reflect the views of my employer)

What Do You Think? Leave a Comment!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: