NFL Mid Season Awards

The NFL has officially entered the second half of the season as week 9 wrapped up with the New England Patriots narrow victory over the New York Jets. As we have now entered the second half of the season, it’s time to look back at what happened in the first half of this historic season. Specifically, it’s time to give out the NFL-mid season awards.


NFL Mid-Season MVP

When thinking about this, there’s only two options. Seattle Seahawks Quarterback Russell Wilson, and Kansas City Chiefs Quarterback Patrick Mahomes. These two guys have been playing on a different level this season compared everyone else in the NFL. Russell Wilson has never even received an MVP vote in his career. That certainly will change this season. Wilson this season has thrown 28 touchdowns, 2.541 yards, 8 interceptions and has completion percentage of 71 percent. Meanwhile, Patrick Mahomes has 25 touchdowns, 2,687 yards, 1 interception and a completion rating of 66.9 percent. Not much separates these two, but to me, this NFL Mid-Season MVP is Russell Wilson.


NFL Mid-Season Offensive Rookie of The Year

The NFL Offensive Rookie of The Year award is very competitive this year. There are three choices for this award. They are, Pittsburgh Steelers Wide Receiver Chase Claypool, Los Angeles Chargers Quarterback Justin Herbert and Cincinnati Bengals Quarterback Joe Burrow. Yes, not all these options are quarterbacks. Chase Claypool has been quite the surprise this season for the Steelers. This season, he has five touchdowns, 444 yards, and is averaging 14.3 yards per reception. He also has two rushing touchdowns, and 25 rushing yards. It appears that Pittsburgh found another versatile weapon in the draft. The number one overall pick, Joe Burrow is making Cincinnati relevant again. Despite only having two wins, Cincinnati has only been blown out once. Their other losses, were all within ten points. Joe Burrow this season has thrown for 11 touchdowns, 2,272 yards, 5 interceptions, and has a completion percentage of 67 percent. Considering how the Bengals played last year, this is an improvement. Lastly, Justin Herbert sadly can’t break the Chargers curse of finding ways to lose. Regardless though, he is having a great season. Herbert has thrown for 17 touchdowns, 2,146 yards, 5 interceptions and has a completion percentage of 67.3 percent. To me, this is a no brainer. Justin Herbert is the NFL Mid-Season Offensive Rookie of The Year. Once he breaks the Chargers curse, the Chargers will be a force to reckon with because of the talent of Justin Herbert.


NFL Mid-Season Offensive Player of The Year

This award goes to Patrick Mahomes. As already explained, Mahomes is playing on another level this year, competing with Russell Wilson for the MVP. Mahomes has been a nightmare for defenses this season, and will be for his entire career. Expect Patrick Mahomes to be in the running every season for just about every offensive award.


NFL Mid-Season Defensive Rookie of The Year

This award belongs to one of two players. Washington’s Defensive End Chase Young and Tampa Bay Buccaneers Safety Antoine Winfield Jr. Nothing has gone right for Washington this season, except for Chase Young’s performance on the defensive side of the ball (and Terry McLaurin on the offensive ride but he’s not a rookie!) Young this season has 3.5 sacks, 20 total tackles, 16 solo tackles and has forced a fumble this season. He has been battling some injuries this season, but so far he has been able to play through the pain. His competition for this award, Antoine Winfield Jr has been one of the shining stars on the Tampa Bay roster this season. Winfield Jr has two sacks, 51 total tackles, 34 solo tackles, forced one fumble and has one interception on the season. Antoine Winfield Jr easily is the NFL Mid-Season Defensive Rookie of The Year. Winfield Jr is going to be a problem for quarterbacks and receivers for years to come.

NFL Mid-Season Defensive Player of The Year

This is the final award I’m giving out today. Before I do that, I’ll just say that the Coach of The Year will be Mike Tomlin, look what he’s doing with the Pittsburgh Steelers. Anyways, this award really only goes to one player in mind. No, it is not Aaron Donald of the Los Angeles Rams. This award goes to the Cleveland Browns Defensive End Myles Garrett. Garrett has been a monster this season. He has nine sacks, 25 total tackles, 19 solo tackles, four forced fumbles, and two fumble recoveries. Without a doubt, Myles Garrett is the NFL Mid-Season Defensive Player of The Year.

-Matt Burnett (mattthew_jordan on Twitter) 

What Do You Think? Leave a Comment!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: